For Canvas users, please note this important change regarding Canvas Studio. Effective for the next school year, Canvas Studio will be discontinued.
This decision comes as we’ve recognized the abundance of powerful and versatile video creation and storage tools already available within our Google ecosystem. These tools offer similar, and in many cases, enhanced functionality compared to Canvas Studio. See, for example, our past blog posts about Google Vids and Screencast in Google Slides.
What This Means for You
If you have videos (made by you) currently stored in Canvas Studio that you wish to retain, you will need to download them. Otherwise they will be lost when our access ends at the end of August. We recommend saving these videos to your Google Drive, where they can be easily organized, accessed, and shared. Videos imported from YouTube or other sources cannot be downloaded.
Key Steps:
- Download Your Videos: Please download any videos you want to save from Canvas Studio by August 31, 2025. Our allocated storage of studio files will be cleared on September 1, 2025 and consequently none of our stored videos will be retrievable on, or after, that date.
- Save to Google Drive: Store your downloaded videos in your Google Drive. Google Drive provides ample storage and integrates seamlessly with the tools you already use.
Important Note for Assignments:
Even though access to Canvas Studio is being discontinued, students will still be able to submit video assignments directly in Canvas. The standard Media Upload option within Canvas assignments will remain available, allowing students to record and submit videos as needed.
We understand this change may require some adjustments, and we are here to support you – if support is needed, please submit a help desk ticket.





Phishing is a digital form of social engineering that uses authentic-looking emails to trick users into sharing personal information. It usually includes a link that takes the user to a fake website. If you cannot verify the source, do not open the link. Report suspicious messages to your IT team.
Social media exploitation is where the attacker uses information found on a user’s social media profiles to create a targeted phishing attack.
Fake IT Support calls are a common form of impersonation where someone pretends to be an authorized user or administrator in an attempt to gain illicit access to protected data systems. The attacker has enough information to sound credible, and they ask the user for some bit of information that will allow the attacker to gain access to the desired system.
Scareware is a type of baiting where the use of false alarms or fictitious threats lure the user into a trap. One example is the attacker convincing a user that their system is infected with malware and that they should install software granting remote access. Another example is the attacker claiming to have sensitive videos which will be released if the user does not pay.
Tailgating, also known as “piggybacking”, is where an unauthorized person manipulates their way into a restricted area, such as impersonating a well-known role (e.g., delivery driver or custodian worker) or asking a user to “hold the door”.
Shoulder surfing is where an unauthorized person stands near a user to get the user’s password or other data from the user’s computer monitor.




